Rodolfo (Rudy) Gomez


Rudy Gomez is a 60-year member and AusIMM Fellow with over 40 years’ experience in the mining industry including the design, engineering, construction and operation of processing plants. Over the last 23 years, he has also been privately developing new technologies in a range of areas, including metal extraction, new energy, clean coal, water disinfection and materials grinding. Rudy now holds 49 world patents, including those covering the Unipolar Water Technologies.

Rudy graduated from the University of the Philippines and accepted an Australian government scholarship to study extractive metallurgy at the University of Adelaide, culminating in the completion of his Masters. He worked as a metallurgist in several countries before returning to Australia in 1982, where he pursued his real passions – technological innovations and the entrepreneurial development of his ideas and inventions. It was during the pursuit of his technological concepts that he became aware of early exploration work undertaken in the Lake Torrens area of South Australia, which ultimately led to the pegging of exploration claims and the discovery in 2005 of the massive Carrapateena copper-gold orebody beneath 500 m of cover sequence, with an expected mine life of more than 20 years.

The discovery story of Carrapateena is in many ways a reflection of the true character of Rudy and his driving motivations. It required long-term commitment, belief and tenacity to persist when the support from others was diminishing. Rudy continues to develop his revolutionary concepts, including an innovative water purification process, a liquid battery system to satisfy base load power applications and a vortex grinding mill for applications in the increasingly important graphite market.

In 2011, Rudy was awarded China’s ‘Future Giant’ Award for his innovative environmental technologies as well as being named Prospector of the Year by the Association of Mining and Exploration Companies. In 2013, Rudy was honoured with the Filipino-Australian of the Year award.

Other Faces

Sandeep Biswas


Yonglian Sun

Dr. Yonglian

Jo Barron-Perry (nee Barron)


Peter Lilly

Dr. Peter