Rodney Elvish


Rod joined AusIMM in 1968 as a student at RMIT. With John Storey and Peko Mines Ltd scholarships he graduated with Associateship and Fellowship Diplomas. He earned a Graduate Diploma in Mineral Economics from Macquarie University in 1984.

Rod undertook vacation work at Rum Jungle and Tennant Creek. He joined Peko’s graduate program at King Island Scheelite during which time an x-ray fluorescence ore sorter was installed. In 1972 he transferred to Tennant Creek, processing ores from five mines in two parallel circuits. He assumed responsibility for combined metallurgical accounting including the Warrego concentrator and smelter. In 1975 he and his wife joined Texasgulf Australia at Marandoo, an emerging Pilbara Marra Mamba project, specialising in the preparation of direct reduction feedstocks.

Seconded to Mintek, Rod succeeded in conquering UG2 platinum reef flotation. With Elf Aquitaine’s takeover of Texasgulf he moved to Sydney in 1982 working on joint ventures with Mount Isa Mines and Aberfoyle. He sold mineral processing equipment for Dorr Oliver from 1984 until 1987 when, with his wife Monika they hung out their shingle. As a consultant he has worked widely throughout Australia, Papua New Guinea, Brazil, South Korea, the UK and West Africa.

Directorships include Allstate Explorations (instrumental in re-developing the Beaconsfield gold mine and Chair at the time of the Anzac Day tragedy in 2006), Compass Resources and a not-for-profit charity.

Rod served in many AusIMM branches, was active in MICA and Chaired the AusIMM Sydney Branch in 1991. Elected to Council representing metallurgists in 1997, he championed a small Board representing Disciplines at the 1998 Institute Review. Rod was inaugural chair of the AusIMM Metallurgical Society, Councillor of the International Mineral Processing Council and was elected as the 2001 AusIMM President, chairing the first AusIMM Board.

He received the Beryl Jacka Award in 2003 recognising his mantra ‘the more you put into the Institute, the more you get from it’. Honorary Fellowship was awarded in 2010.

Other Faces

Lourdes Valle


Greg Chalmers


Julius Kruttschnitt


Henry Muller