Ray Tolhurst


Ray’s association with the AusIMM began in 1966, when he joined as a student member. He has been actively involved on the AusIMM Illawarra Branch Committee, during the 1970s and again since 2001, holding the position of Branch Chair several times. He has encouraged many people, particularly students, to join the AusIMM and the Branch Committee, resulting in Illawarra having the highest percentage of student members of all AusIMM Branches. Ray has sat on the regional AusIMM EEF scholarship panel for many years and was a member of the previous AusIMM Education Taskforce. He currently chairs AusIMM’s paraprofessional course recognition working party. Additionally, he developed and delivered the first NSW post-graduate qualification in ‘Sustainable Development for Mining and Metal Production’, blending environmental science and technology, business planning and community relations skills.

Ray is a Principal Honorary Fellow and member of the University of Wollongong Faculty of Engineering and Information Sciences Advisory Committee, Chair of the Bendigo Community Bank Fairy Meadow Branch and Deputy Chair of Inside Industry, the Illawarra Business Enterprise Centre and the Illawarra Information and Technology Centre. Previously, Ray has been the Convenor of the National Network of TAFE Mining and Metallurgy Teachers, Director of Finance of the Australian Vocational Education and Training Research Association, Chair of the Illawarra Mining Technology and Services Group, Chair of the Illawarra Regional Worldskills Committee, Director of the Illawarra Area Consultative Committee, Director of the NSW Hockey Association, Hockey Australia Councillor and Commissioner, Australian Country Hockey.

Ray has received several awards, including a Commonwealth Government Outstanding Contribution to Teaching and Learning Citation for AusIMM’s Minerals Industries Employability Skills Workshops, the Contribution to Mining Education Award from the Australian Coal Operators Conference, NSW Department of Education and Training Services to Students Medal, Wollongong’s Senior Citizen of the Year, as well as AusIMM’s Branch Services and Beryl Jacka Award in recognition of extraordinary and sustained services to AusIMM.

Other Faces

Kathy Ehrig

Dr. Kathy

Rose Lindner


Jim May

Dr. Jim

John Hugh Hill

John Hugh