Keith Yates


Keith Yates is a geologist with more than 50 years’ experience across mineral exploration and mine development. Following his retirement in 2007, Keith has remained a prominent figure in the Australian resources sector, serving as a member of the South Australian (SA) Mining and Petroleum Experts Group and is Chair of the Minerals and Energy Advisory Council, both initiatives of the South Australian Government.

Keith has been involved with a range of projects including gold, base metals and other minerals throughout Australia and the Asia-Pacific region. Throughout his career, Keith held many senior titles with various companies, having held board and management positions with the Poseidon Limited Group. During this time, he was Executive Director of Australian Development Limited, before becoming a founder and Chairman of Adelaide Resources during the 1990s. Since its listing on the ASX in 1996, Adelaide Resources has held significant exploration interests in SA – where it continues to operate. Keith is the founder of NewGenGold, the world’s pre-eminent gold exploration conference. Founded in 1994, the first conference was held in 1995, and Keith still co-organises the conference every second year with Paydirt Media, the last conference being the 11th in the series in 2017.

Keith serves on the Board of the Playford Memorial Trust (a not-for-profit) that provides prestigious scholarships, awards and internships for high-achieving students who work in areas of strategic importance to the state. The Trust actively encourages outstanding students into science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) studies and careers. The trust also partners with others to provide close to $500,000 to university undergraduates, Honours, Masters, and PhD students, as well as TAFE.

A former Chair of the Adelaide Branch of the AusIMM, Keith was instrumental in setting up a joint scholarship program between the Adelaide Branch and the Playford Trust and sits on its EEF Scholarship panel.

Other Faces

Stuart Winchester


Austin Burton Edwards


Julie Shuttleworth


Essington Lewis