Prof. Alice Clark

Director of Production Centres


Alice Clark joined the Sustainable Minerals Institute (SMI) as the Director of Production Centres, the Julius Kruttschnitt Mineral Research Centre (JKMRC) and the WH Bryan Mining & Geology Research Centre (BRC) in September 2015.

Alice brings 30 years of minerals industry experience to this role and has held senior managerial positions as well as consulting to Government and major resources groups involved in discovery, operations development, and mergers and acquisitions. Her work on a variety of mineral deposits has spanned exploration and mine geology, resource and reserve estimation, feasibility studies, due diligence review, professional mentoring, and management.

Professor Clark’s extensive experience has enabled her to develop an in-depth understanding of the requirement for an integrated approach from discovery to mine closure.

Professor Clark has previously held a number of significant industry roles:
• President of The Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy (AusIMM)
• Deputy Chair of the Joint Ore Reserves Committee (JORC)
• Appointed to the Queensland Exploration Council
• Appointed as Queensland Resource Industry Ambassador by the Qld Government

She was appointed as Professorial Head of Geometallurgy Research at the JKMRC in 2012 and has been an Adjunct Professor at The University of Queensland and at the Southern Cross University since 2014.

In 2015, Professor Clark was honoured with the AusIMM Beryl Jacka Award in recognition of extraordinary and sustained service to the Institute.
“Working with the world class team of research professionals at the SMI brings together expertise, technology and innovation aimed at enabling productivity improvements that incorporate the significant issues of mine closure from the outset of mining development proposals.”

Other Panellists

Stephen Durkin

Stephen Durkin

Chief Executive Officer

Jon Williams

Jon Williams

Global People & Organisation Lead Partner

Shaun Browne

Shaun Browne

Chairman & Managing Director

AME Research
Helen Burns

Helen Burns

Partner, People & Organisation Lead

PwC Australia